RSS

Music…and a marriage

29 Sep

Apparently, I can’t stay away from corny catch phrases.  Or, corny love songs.  Like this one.  We played it at our wedding.  It was one of the few songs  that I don’t think about today and cringe:

Saturday marks 17 years that Bret and I have been married.  No, I wasn’t 12 at the time.  I was 19.  So there.

BG truly is my best friend.


He is an awesome father to his children

He provides for our family

He makes me laugh

And he is the love of my life

The road we have walked these last few months has made it painfully clear to never take a day, minute, second for granted.  It has stripped us down to the bare roots and shown us what to really value in life.  They say that “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”  I don’t need, or want  the absence.  Love in the here and now.
BG still periodically asks me to marry him.  And I still say yes.  And I will.  For the rest of my life.  Happy anniversary honey, I LOVE YOU.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Music…and a marriage

  1. Beckie Jones Frame

    September 29, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I really like that last picture of the two of you together. Congrats on 17 years!! That is great! I celebrate my 11 year anniversary on October 6th.

     
  2. Rachel

    September 29, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Hi Barb! Cute blog – I’ll look forward to reading. Hey – I got married when I was 19 too. And we just had our 18th this month. Guess it can be done….by the grace of God! Happy Anniversary!

     
    • dwellinginthesecretplace

      September 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      Thanks Rachel ~ Happy Anniversary to you, too. 19’s a good #. ;0) Hope you guys are well…

       

Leave a Reply

 
