RSS

Music…and learning

06 Oct

I don’t know if many of you have even heard of “Barlow Girl,” but they are a group of sisters, with amazing harmonies and moving lyrics.  This song gets me every time.  I love the passion, the message and the reminder that I don’t have to (and shouldn’t) listen to what the world is telling me about image.

“Who are you to tell me that I’m less than what I should be?  Who are you?  I don’t need to listen to the list of things I ‘should’ be, I won’t try.”  Good stuff, and a message all of our young girls need to hear.

On to learning…these last few years, I have had a passion for gathering all information I can on nutrition.  I won’t bore you with all the details right now – maybe I’ll save that for another post – but there are many reasons why this resonates within me.  I’ve made a lot of changes, and still am trying to incorporate new changes into our daily lives –  much to the chagrin, at times,  of my loving husband and children. 🙂  I’ll be posting some of my favorite changes in a few days, but in the meantime, here are some resources that I have found useful:

Food Inc.  This was probably the biggest and most profound catalyst to opening our eyes as to what we put into our bodies without even thinking.  It also enlightened us as to how much control we give corporate America in our food system.  You can watch the official trailer here:

Or, if you have Netflix, you can instant-stream the full documentary.  Prepare to be infuriated.  On a side note, I want the down-home, country-boy chicken farmer as my neighbor.

The Essential Green You: by Deirdre Imus.  I just finished reading this and it is excellent food for thought.  I checked it out from the library, but you can also find it here:
141654125X
She guides you through everything you put on or in your body (food, personal-care products, clothes, medications) and the toxins that those items contain, un-benownst to the majority of us.  In December 2006, Philippe Grandjean, MD, a professorin the Department of Environmental Health at the Harvard School of Public Health, published an evidence review identifying 201 chemicals shown to be toxic to the neurological system.  Most of the list is common ingredients in food and consumer goods.  Also, did you know that more than 10,500 ingredients are used in personal care products, but only 11% of those have been reviewed for safety?  That means that we have no idea of whether or not almost 90% of what we put in our bodies is toxic.  The FDA doesn’t have the authority to test any beauty products before they are made available to the public AND, they can’t force companies to clean up their act unless they receive evidence that a product is “harmful as used.”  So, instead of requiring companies to produce safe products, the government is waiting for us to get sick.  Imus gives you lists of products to avoid in such areas as produce, snacks, make-up, clothing and medication and also safe sources to use in their place.  While I may not agree with all that she has to say or suggest, it’s still useful information.

The Locavore Way: by Amy Cotler  Can be found here:
1603424539 or, at http://www.locavoreway.com
I’m still working my way through this one, but it has a lot of useful information on eating local foods and supporting the farmers who provide it, including how to eat seasonally.  She includes lots of useful resources for finding local farmer’s markets, CSAs, and seasonal food charts.

Nourishing Traditions: by Sally Fallon
0967089735
This will take everything you’ve been taught about diet and nutrition and flip it on it’s head.  (Those are my words, not some phrase I stole from the back of the book jacket.  Be impressed.) What we’ve been told our bodies do and/or don’t need and what is really the best way to nourish our systems are very different ends of the spectrum.  She covers nutrition in various forms, including fats, carbs, proteins, vitamins,minerals and beverages and also gives TONS of recipes, references and the process of how to beneficially feed/nourish our systems.  I’ve checked this one out from the library multiple times, and it is now on my “to buy” list.  Again, I don’t necessarily concur with all she has to say, but it’s a good way to get started and tons of useful information.

Those are just a few things that have started and helped me along the way.  My next post will include changes I/we have made as a family to better our health and way of life.  It may or may not leave you wondering if I’ve gone off the deep end or become one of “those tree-huggers.”  That remains to be determined…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
