RSS

Blessings…and being blessed

18 Oct


I had the honor and privilege of playing this song at Sheri’s memorial service.  Sheri’s  other sister-in-law, Amy, sang it beautifully, while I accompanied her on my flute.  It still gets me.  Every time.  Tears well up whenever I hear just the introduction.  Sometimes I quickly change the station so I won’t cry.  Sometimes I let the tears flow and take in the moment.  Sometimes I just listen and am reminded of the blessings in disguise in my life.
Blessings sometimes come at us differently than we would expect, or even like, or want.  Just like sometimes it takes thunder to bring the rain, sometimes it takes pain and trials to bring the blessing.
I read a quote early last week, and it has been running over and over in my mind ever since.  In fact, I sat down this morning and took a good 45min. to write a blog post on it, and when I went to preview it, the dang thing was nowhere to be found.  All that for nothing.  Or not.  Maybe God had different intentions for how He wanted me to word what I wanted to say.
The quote was this: The grass is greener where you water it.
I know that at first glance, that doesn’t sound too profound, but think about it for a minute.  Often times, we are so busy striving for what we want, that we lose sight of what we have.  The grass isn’t always greener on the other side, if we nurture and care for what we’ve been given. 
I’m learning to be more grateful for the things that I have.  The view out my living room window.  Time with my family.  The ability to watch the changing colors of the trees.  The cool, crisp, air.  My home.  My health.
I’m learning that instead of longing (at times) to be somewhere else, I need to truly live where I am.  To stop always looking ahead at what will be, and live in the moment of what is.  The one thing I’ve learned over the last few months, is that life is very short.  Love the ones you love.  Find the blessings through the trials and rejoice in them.  Water the grass where you are.  And be blessed.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Ramblings

 

One response to “Blessings…and being blessed

  1. amber givens

    November 5, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Barb…beautiful post…I didn’t know Laura Story sang this but heard it a few days ago and was jotting down the lyrics on the back of a receipt in the car. So often the wound is the blessing…thanks for helping us keep perspective

     

Leave a Reply

 
