RSS

Traditions…continued

15 Dec

So the other day, I began a post of Christmas traditions.  You can find that post here: tradition-and-traditions.   I keep thinking of more that I could add, but here are a few to round out the 12….


7.  A Christmas Letter Banner:  years ago, when my brothers and I were younger and were so excited about Christmas that we couldn’t sleep, we began making a Christmas banner.  This was back in the day, when you could print out a whole banner off of the computer, and it was super cool.  We would do one page for each letter of “Merry Christmas,” print it out, color it and hang it up in the middle of the night for our parents to see when they woke up.  I must admit, this is one I can’t quite convince my kids to do – they think it’s lame  (sorry, Uncle Jim)- but it evokes sweet memories, nonetheless.


8. Special breakfast cereal: I hate sugary, sweet cereal.  It makes my teeth hurt just thinking about it.  My kids think it’s a special treat to have Honey Nut Cheerios.  So, for Christmas, one of their presents is a box of the crappy cereal of their choosing.  When it’s gone, it’s gone, and they know they have to wait another year to get it again.  So deprived, they are.


9.  A Christmas of snow: While we were growing up, our local radio station (www.kozi.com) had, what they termed, “A Christmas of Snow.  On Christmas Eve, they would play only Christmas music, all night long.  We would leave it on, softly playing, throughout the night and into the morning.  I believe the radio station still does this, but even though we only live 20min away, we get crappy reception and can’t get the station.  So, Pandora it is.  All night.

And now, for some favorite, must-have-or-its-not-Christmas, recipes:

10. Nutella Fudge: We are Nutella fans in our house.  Good stuff.  If you like hazelnuts and you’ve never had it, you must try it.  If you don’t like hazelnuts, there’s something wrong with you.  This stuff is delicious.  Salty, sweet, nutty, and amazingly simple.  You can find the recipe here: chocolate-nutella-sea-salt-fudge


11. Homemade Almond Roca: This is so easy and delicious, you won’t go store-bought again.  I make it for my daddy, every year. :0)  I don’t do the “marbling,” but you can make it as you wish.  Here’s the recipe: Marbled-Almond-Roca

12. Mom’s Molasses Cookies: these are my favorite, and in my opinion, they beat Starbucks, any day.  Mom-s-Molasses-Cookies

Hope you enjoy these, and maybe find some new traditions to share with your family.  May you all have a wonderful, blessed Christmas and holiday season, filled with joy and shared with loved ones.  God bless ~ Barb  <><

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
