RSS

Springtime…and sanity

30 Mar


I’ve been missing my grandparents a lot lately.  They both had a profound influence on my life, and I find myself being reminded of them in little ways, at random times throughout the day.  I saw a mail truck the other day and suddenly found myself all choked up (my grandfather was a mailman).  Why?  I don’t know.  I’m sentimental like that.  Then I heard this song by Kenny Chesney, and all I wanted was to be on my grandparent’s porch, curled up in a lawn chair, snuggled up w/one of my Gramma’s (yes, I know that looks like a typo, but that was hers and mine special way of writing/saying it) afghans, sipping some tea and watching the brook.  That, my friends, is one of my “old blue chairs.”  And I miss being able to be there.  I miss that sense of comfort, peace and love.

So what does that have to do with Spring?  Well, I’ve also been a little overwhelmed lately.  It’s getting towards the end of the school year.  We’re all more than a little tired of the drudgery of the school day.  Yearly testing is coming up, which puts stress and strain on all of us – the kids have to prove they’ve been paying attention/learning, and I have to prove that what we do all day is not in vain.  My daughter has been playing Lacrosse, which is one of her great passions, but also means we drive 30min each way so she can play.  Games are 2 1/2 – 3 hrs away and we often don’t get home until midnight.  My husband is entering his busy season, which means he is generally up and gone before the sun.  We don’t ever know exactly what time he will be home, and when he does get home, he generally eats dinner and falls asleep, being completely worn out from the work day.
I don’t say all that to complain, but just to say that sometimes, we get caught up in the “busy-ness” of life.  It can overtake/overwhelm us, or we can learn to take a step back and breathe.  Learn to enjoy the times of running the kids around to practices, because, all too soon, they will be gone and all we’ll have to remind us are sweet pictures like this:

     

Learn to enjoy the time of learning and growth during school.  It may be an old cliche’, but you really do learn something new every day, and I am always amazed at what my kids surprise me with.  My son is truly one of the most creative little guys I know, and I’m not just saying that because he is, of course, my son.  Our schooling allows him the freedom to expand that creativity while he learns.  We need to just keep on keeping on, while finding ways to find pleasure in each new time/season.  And remind ourselves that you are only young once.  What I wouldn’t give to be able to go back and truly appreciate my youth.  Because, really, what other time in your life are you going to find pleasure in eating an ant for the first time???

So, I guess what I’m saying is learn to be thankful, not overwhelmed.  Take each day as the gift that it is, and find some joy in it.  Instead of waiting for the storm to pass, learn to dance like crazy in the rain.  Laugh a little.  Embrace what comes at you, take a deep gulp, and power through it, being thankful for the lessons you are going to learn along the way.

This next Sunday, we will be celebrating Easter.  We’ll be celebrating the joy of our risen Lord.  We’ll be celebrating the joy of new life and new beginnings.  We’ll be celebrating God’s power and the defeat of death.  There is great hope in that.  And so, rather than lose my sanity this spring, I am choosing to “dwell in the secret place of the most high, and abide under the shadow of the almighty.  He is my refuge, my fortress, my God, and in Him will I trust.” (Psalm 91)  And I might even take a few minutes to curl up with one of my treasured afghans from my Gramma, with a cup of tea and a photo album, in an old blue chair….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Ramblings

 

Leave a comment