RSS

Patience…and perseverance

22 Jun


No matter how much patience I think I have, I always find myself needing to learn more.  My husband always sings this song that he learned when he was young: “have patience, have patience; don’t be in such a hurry.  When you get impatient, you only start to worry.  Remember, remember, that God is patient, too.  And just think of all the times when others have to wait on you.” Rather cheesy, yes, but a good reminder, nonetheless.
Eating a “real food” diet, and making changes to our lifestyle requires more patience than I would like to admit.  Our bodies have been trained and bombarded with a certain way of eating, and when you try to change that up, there are certain bodies that will balk at such changes.  These “certain bodies” shall remain un-named, in order to protect their identities, but let’s just say that as a momma, it can be very difficult, if you’re smelling what I’m stepping on.  Change needs to be gradual and small.  When you are excited about something and can see the benefits, it is very hard to take baby steps when you want to press on full force.  This takes not only patience, but perseverance.  Perseverance is defined as: steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.  Hello.  Can I get an “amen?”  Difficulties, obstacles, discouragement.  I’ve had so much of that in the last month that I was ready to throw in the towel.  Give up.  Quit.  Forget about it all.  I was even ready to shut down this blog.  Pure frustration.

Really, my family has been quite patient with me through this process.  Some changes have been made with open arms and some have been a gradual, slow acceptance.  In some areas, I might be viewed as a “freak” or a “hippie” (although my sweet niece recently pointed out that I’m not “hippie,” I’m “granola.” :)), but that’s ok.  I embrace that.  I grew up with brothers – I can take what you throw at me. 🙂  I’d rather be viewed as a freak for implementing change, than as someone who just goes with the flow.
There are studies out there that say if you want a picky eater to embrace a new food, you have to introduce that food multiple times, before they’ll accept and like it (if at all).  Same goes with new habits and implementing change. (i.e. cutting out the bad, putting in the good)  Although, I’ve tried to introduce my beloved Kombucha to my family more times than I can count, and they’re not going for it.  But that’s ok – more for me. 🙂
We all agreed that getting rid of the microwave and using a toaster oven instead was a wise decision, but it has taken time and effort to get used to it.  That’s just one area of many.  So, I decided to start a series, where I highlight one food/change that has been introduced and how that’s been accepted.  Positives/negatives, likes/dislikes, what worked, what didn’t.  You get the idea.  I’m going to start with Chia seeds, since that was the catalyst that started this whole “throw in the towel” thing.  You’ll have to read my next post to find out why….

Closing with a picture I love: This one is on Lake Chelan, where I am proud to call home.  My hubby and I had taken a much-needed trip out in our boat, just the two of us.  We were blessed with a beautiful day, and I could have sat here for hours.  The beauty and serenity is breathtaking.

This post was linked to: and:

 

One response to “Patience…and perseverance

Leave a Reply

 
