RSS

12 Days…of recipes

01 Dec

I couldn’t do a post all about the 12 days of Christmas, without including a clip from one of my favorite Christmas videos.  Actually, my brother and I first learned to love “A Sesame Street Christmas,” on record, if you can believe that.  We would play it over, and over, and over.  Now, we have it recorded on cassette.  We’re old school like that. 🙂  Anyway, it is one of my very favorite Christmas memories.

So, for the 12 days of Christmas, I thought I would give you 12 of my favorite Christmas recipes.  Some of them, I have altered – changing the ingredients to come up with a recipe that is a bit more healthy.  Some are recipes I have created on my own.  And, some of them are terrible for you, but hey, it’s Christmas.  We all have to indulge once in awhile, and they are just plain yummy.  🙂

Day One: Turkey-a-la-King

photo-1

~ This is our standard, day-after-Thanksgiving meal.  It has become tradition, and it is one of our favorites.
This is a recipe that I came up with on my own, so hopefully I’ve “guesstimated” the measurements right. 😉  It’s not the most beautiful looking dish you’ll ever make, but I promise, it tastes better than it looks. 😉

* 2T olive oil
1/2 green pepper, diced
1/2 red pepper, diced
3/4 medium-sized onion, diced (about 1 C)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 C chopped, cooked turkey
2/3 C Casserole Soup Mix (alternatively, use 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup)
2 C water
1 C sour cream or plain yogurt
Seasonings to taste: salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley, cayenne, nutritional yeast

~ In a large saucepan, saute peppers, onion and garlic in olive oil until tender and translucent.  Stir in turkey and heat.  Sprinkle with casserole soup mix and stir to combine.  Gradually add water; stir and simmer until thickened.*  Add sour cream or yogurt; stir to combine and heat until warm.  Serve over rice, quinoa or noodles.  Drizzle with sriracha sauce. 😉  YUM.
*If you are using the cream of mushroom soup, reconstitute it according to directions on the can, then add to pot and continue.  I prefer to use the homemade soup mix, as it is much better for you…

That’s it!  Pretty simple, and a great way to use up leftover turkey.  I realize it’s well after Thanksgiving, but just in case you still have extras lying around, or are planning on making a turkey for Christmas, there you go.  Hope you enjoy.  Let me know what you think.

This post was linked to: The Homestead Barn Hop

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 1, 2012 in Food, Ramblings

 

Leave a Reply

 
