RSS

12 Days of recipes….3~12

12 Dec

Yup, I missed a few days, so you’re getting a bunch at once. 🙂  Being gone for a week throws a kink in the blogging plans.  Hopefully you will enjoy these favorite recipes of ours, and what better day to give them to you, than 12-12-12. 🙂  I tried to put a bit of everything in – some to give, some to enjoy….

*Cookie Dough Truffles ~ I’m cheating on this one and just giving you the link to the recipe.  Trust me when I say these are delicious.  Totally bad for you, but delicious.  We give these as gifts, and everyone raves about them.

*Homemade Almond Roca ~ This is another that we like to give as a gift.  It’s super easy to make, and we like it even better than the store bought kind…
~ 1/2 C slivered almonds
1 C butter, cubed
2 T brown rice syrup (you can use corn syrup, but only if you want to poison yourself 😉 )
1/2 C chocolate chips (or homemade carob chips – minus the peppermint, unless you want peppermint roca)
Spread out a large, greased sheet of wax paper, or even better, use a large silpat pad.  Sprinkle with almonds.
In a large saucepan over low heat, cook butter and sugar for 5 minutes. Add water and brown rice syrup. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook, stirring occasionally, until a candy thermometer reads 300° (hard-crack stage). Quickly pour over almonds. Sprinkle chips on top; let stand for 1-2 minutes or until melted. Spread and swirl over candy. Cool completely; break into pieces. Yield: 1-1/2 pounds.

*Jello Popcorn ~ yes, I know this sounds really strange, but I promise, it’s quite yummy and rather addicting.  We found the recipe in a homemaking book my daughter was using, and it’s become one of our favorites.  I don’t make it very often, due to the ingredients in jello, but it’s still really good. 😉
~1/2 C popcorn kernels
1/4 C butter
2 t honey
1 sm. (3oz) pkg jello – we like to use raspberry or cherry
1-2 t salt, to taste
Pop popcorn according to preferred method.  In a small saucepan, melt butter. Stir in honey until dissolved.  Add jello and stir to combine (mixture will be thick and “goopy”)  Drizzle over popcorn, stirring and tossing to distribute.  Sprinkle with salt, if desired.

*Pumpkin Pound Cake w/Walnut Sauce ~ cheating again.  Another favorite; positively delicious!  Also makes a great gift….

*Nutella Bread ~ this is one I blogged about awhile back.  Allow me to preface by saying I don’t believe you should consume a lot of Nutella.  It’s really not good for you, no matter what the packaging claims.  Do your research and see what you believe.  I don’t allow it very often, but my kids love it, and I do allow a special treat now and again.  Click the link for the recipe…

*Homemade Face Wash ~ yup, I’m giving you a couple that aren’t food related. 🙂  This is one of the recipes that I’m most asked about.  It’s good stuff.  I haven’t bought face wash in over a year, and don’t see myself buying it ever again.  I don’t buy moisturizer either – with this, you don’t need it!  So it’s a great, all natural recipe, and a money-saver all in one!  Click the link and then scroll down for the recipe.

*Homemade Deodorant ~ yes, I know you’re going to think I’m crazy, but I love this stuff.  Really.  Awhile back I thought I’d try store bought again, and that didn’t last very long.  I think this is way better.  Works better, is better for you, and you can make the scent according to your liking, or even not scented at all.  And again, it’s much cheaper than what you would find at the store.  You do have to get used to applying it a bit differently, but it’s really no big deal.
~ 5-6 T coconut oil
4 T beeswax, optional
1/4 C baking soda
1/4 C arrowroot powder (you can also use cornstarch)
essential oils
In a small saucepan, melt the beeswax, if using – the beeswax helps with the consistency of the final product, but isn’t absolutely necessary.  Stir in the coconut oil until combined.  Gradually add baking soda and arrowroot powder and mix well until desired consistency is reached. (It will harden a bit as it cools)  Stir in any essential oils that you like for scent – I’ve used sweet orange, patchouli, and lavender (seperately).  At this point, you may either scoop it into an old deodorant container, or just put it in a jar or small container w/a lid.  Because of the coconut oil, in warm weather, it will be softer -and may even melt a bit- than regular deodorant.  Any more, I like to just keep mine in a jar and apply it with my fingertips.  If you rub it in well, it will not stain or mark your clothes.  I apply once in the morning, and am good to go all day.  I never have an issue w/smell.  Easy as that.  Next time you go to buy deodorant, take a look at the ingredients.  See how many you can pronounce and how many of those you really want to put into your body.  Then, put it back on the shelf and come home and make this one! 🙂

*Homemade Ranch Dressing ~ it’s that time of year, when you are doing lots of entertaining, going to parties, consuming lots of appetizers, etc.  Why not make something that tastes good, and is much better for you than the schlop you buy in the store?  Click for the recipe and read why this is better for you.  Party on.

*Cinnamon Rolls ~ this is Christmas morning tradition for us, and we often make extra pans to take to the neighbors.  The recipe couldn’t be much simpler for “from scratch” rolls.  Just follow the recipe for Master Artisan Bread (just like for the Nutella Bread recipe).
~ Using half of the dough from the original recipe (after first rising), on a lightly floured surface, roll dough out into a 12×15″ rectangle.  Spread with 1/2 C butter, softened.  Sprinkle w/cinnamon and sugar, to your liking.  Roll up, jelly roll style, and slice into 12 rolls.  Place in greased 13x9in pan and allow to rise until doubled.  Bake at 350 degrees, 30-45min or until golden brown.
To frost, or not to frost?  Up to you.  My kids like them with frosting, my hubby doesn’t.  I usually do some with, and some without.  Powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk to the consistency that we like.  Simple.

*Burnt Sugar Almonds ~ this one is another wonderful gift, and rather addicting.  I cut way back on the amount of sugar, and added more cinnamon.  You could also mix it up a bit for different flavors:  instead of cinnamon and vanilla, try salt and pepper.  Or soy sauce, garlic powder and cayenne. (sounds crazy, but trust me, it’s really good.)  Yum.

Okay, so that’s it.  Hope you’ve enjoyed, been inspired, and started creating.  Let me know what/if you try any and what you think!  God bless ~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in Food

 

Leave a Reply

 
