RSS

Super Bowl Snacks

26 Jan

 

Are you ready for some football?!?!  I know I am.  The Seahawks have been my team since I was in jr. high – yes, I am one of the faithful ones that stood by, even when we were pathetic.  But our glory days are now upon us, and I am looking forward to the big game.
Since I am focusing on eating well and making strong, nutritious decisions, I thought it might be nice to post some recipes for good, healthy snacks.  We all know that one of the best parts of a good football game is the food, but I don’t want to walk away all bloated and feeling miserable for the next 3 days.  So here are some links to some snacks that are easy, taste really good, and won’t leave you with a “food hangover.”

*No Bake German Chocolate Bites ~ these are simple, delicious, and contain no added sugar, while satisfying my sweet tooth, which is a big bonus for me.  They taste a lot like a macaroon.
*Raw Brownies ~ when I made these, I added in shredded coconut and goji berries, and they were delicious.
*Crockpot Candy Nuts ~ this is my own recipe, so of course, I’m a little biased, but it’s really easy, and a great snack.  The last time I made them, I added in shredded coconut and used coconut oil in place of the butter.  Allowing them to cook a little longer and cool right in the crockpot eliminates a step and makes them a little more crispy.
*Chocolate Avocado Smoothie ~ don’t let the avocado throw you off – it makes the smoothie nice and creamy, and this one tastes like a peanut butter milkshake.  So good.
*Ranch Dressing/Dip ~ you can read this post for all the reasons you should make it homemade, along with my recipe for how to do so.  Enjoy with some veggie sticks, or these Sunflower Seed Crackers.
*Beer Bread ~ This recipe uses only 3 ingredients, making it quick to mix up and bake, and much less full of nasty, unnecessary ingredients.  I do 1/2 & 1/2 whole wheat and white flour, adding 1tsp of vital wheat gluten for each cup of whole wheat flour.

Two other favorites of mine don’t involve a recipe, per se, but I make them often, and can eat them all by myself. 😉
~ Sweet potato fries are a great snack, and are really easy to make.  I just peel and slice up some sweet potatoes, cut in to fry-shaped pieces.  Put into a bowl and toss with some olive oil and salt.  Bake at 425 degrees until desired “crispness,” about 45-60min.  Taste and sprinkle w/more salt if needed.  I’ve also sprinkled them w/a chili-lime seasoning, which makes them salty & a little tart at the same time.
~ Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks.  We’re not talking the nasty, chemical-laden microwave kind.  Just air pop some popcorn, drizzle w/melted butter or coconut oil, and sprinkle w/salt.  Yum.  I also sprinkle w/nutritional yeast to add some more nutrition and good B vitamins.

So, hope that gives you some great ideas and alternatives for Super Bowl Sunday.  And, GO HAWKS!!! 🙂

Until next time….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
