RSS

Trusting Through the Midst of the Storm

04 Feb

She’s right, you know.  Corrie Ten Boom.  Sometimes we need to just sit still and trust.  I’ll be the first to admit that this is a lesson that I have to learn repeatedly.  Why?  I don’t know.  Trust is hard for me.  I won’t go into all the reasons or logistics why.  But God is continually, gently whispering into my ear “Trust me.”  This is one such season in my life.  The Hebrew word for trust is “chasah (chah-sah.)  It means “to hope, or to make someone a refuge” (Strong’s #2620)  The manner in which a trusting baby bird hides itself under its parent’s feathers.  It also has the meaning of “to lean on someone or something.”  I am learning to lean on the Lord when I don’t have my own strength.   Psalm 37:5 says ” Commit your way to the Lord, TRUST also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass.”  That word “commit?”  It means to “roll it over on” the Lord. To roll my burdens over on to the Lord and rest in the shelter of His wings is where I want to be.  He will carry me.  He will sustain me.  And He will bring me through to the light on the other side of the tunnel.

It’s been almost four years since my sister-in-law died after a brave battle with breast cancer.  I wrote this note in the weeks after her passing.  Thought I would share it again now, as it speaks volumes to me about trusting in the Lord and reminds me that He is right there with us, even through the darkest of tunnels…

Trust. Such a simple little word, that conjures up so many different emotions for different people. On hearing the word, one may instantly feel love, peace, and comfort, while another may feel anxiety, doubt and fear. Life’s circumstances and experiences put a different spin on the word, causing some people to jump in with both feet, while others shrink back into the shadows, afraid to put out a toe.
As I was driving the other day, I crossed a bridge where some construction work is being done. They are expanding the bridge, adding a driving and walking lane. I watched the men putting up the railing for the walking lane, and I realized, I am putting my trust in those men’s hands. I trust that they are going to do their job correctly, putting the railing up properly, so that as I lean on it, I won’t fall through. I trust the men expanding the driving lane, that the structure underneath me as I drive will be solid and sound, holding me securely as I drive over the rushing water below. In a sense, I am putting my life in their hands. Have I ever met these men? Do I know anything about them? Do I know their character? Are they explicitly following directions? Are they diligent? Do they care one iota about me or my life? Are they worthy of my trust?
This, then, begs the question: why, oh why, am I so quick to place my complete trust in someone I’ve never met, don’t know anything about, and who doesn’t care about me or my life, yet I sometimes question the God who created me. The God who loves me and only wants what is best for my life. The God who protects me and carries me through the rough patches. The God who laughs with in my times of joy, and weeps with me in my times of sorrow. The God who is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. His character is perfect. He is explicit in His instruction. Diligent in His love. Worthy above all else of holding my trust.
I don’t understand why Sheri is no longer with us. I don’t understand why cancer robs us of those we love. I don’t understand why precious children are left without their momma, and a loving husband is left without his wife. Why a little brother has to mourn his big sister. Why a mother and father have to bury a child. Why family and friends have to grieve over someone so precious and beautiful who is no longer here. The list of “whys” goes on and on…
BUT. I am not called to understand. I am called to TRUST. “Trust in the Lord with ALL your heart, and lean NOT on your own understanding. In ALL your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6) I acknowledge the Lord. I trust in His sovereignty. His ways are not my own, and who am I to question why, or why not? To trust is to feel safe. There is no safer place then at the feet of Jesus. I lay all my trust at His feet, and know that He will carry us through. His mercies are new every morning and great is His faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:23) He hears our cry, attends to our prayer, and leads us to the rock that is higher. He is our refuge and strong tower. (Psalm 61:1-3) Trust in the Lord. There is no better place to be.

Until next time…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2015 in Ramblings, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Trusting Through the Midst of the Storm

  1. Angie

    February 6, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    I thought this must be you when I read your home page…beautiful! I am making the Nutella bread this weekend… got it started tonight.
    I am so sorry for your hurting heart and soul…peace to you, my friend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
